PDA

View Full Version : MEL: a script for creating handCtrl's ?

pigbelly
11-17-2002, 10:46 PM
Hi,

I would like to know if there is a script that can create attributes for the hand?

Example:
Say that you have to rig about 10 characters, and on every hand you want to have about 5 attributes (fist, grab and so on)
This would add up to 100 attributes and say that it takes about 2minits for every setup. That's 200 minutes, 3,3 hours of repeatedly waste of time:-)))

So could some MEL geniuses tell me how to create a script that creates this for me?
I guess you would be forced to great some kind of menu to state what kind of hand you have, four or five fingers and so on!!

I have been trying to create this but I'm not that good at MEL..

Thanks
/Tommie

jschleifer
11-17-2002, 11:20 PM
Heya,

pretty simple to add the attributes really.. you can do something like this:

// create an array of control names
string $names[] = { "fist", "grab", flipOff", "point" };

// get the selected objects
string $objs[0];
$objs = `ls -sl`;

// looop through the selected objects and add the attributes
for ($ob in $objs)
{
for ($attr in $names)
{
addAttr -longName $attr -at double $ob;
setAttr -k 1 ($ob + "." + $attr);
}
}

pigbelly
11-19-2002, 01:10 PM
Great works like a charm but:-)) (always a but:-)

I would like it to actually create the setDrivenKey animations on the fist, grab and so on!!

That's what I meant with the need for some kind of UI to determine the hands construction and then I have to figure out a way to make MEL understand which bone hierarchy is the thumb or pinky:-))

I'm lost....:-(

/Tommie

jschleifer
11-19-2002, 04:59 PM
ah ,can't you do it based on name? if you have a consistent naming scheme, you should be able to do something like:

$children = `listRelatives -c $handJoint`;
string $child;
for ($child in $children)
{
// thumb
if (`gmatch $child "*thumb*"`)
{
// do thumb stuff
}
}

??

Ckerr812
11-19-2002, 08:08 PM