PDA

View Full Version : Vehicle: Hover Tank

TheZer0
11-02-2005, 11:01 PM
Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting on CGTalk, as well as my first time doing any modeling that is game related. So, a lot of firsts today :) I've been lurking for a bit, and I've read a lot about tris and all kinds of other techniques on this site, though sometimes they get confusing. So I figured the best way to understand and improve was to finally post some work I've been doing lately and let everyone rip it to pieces. :D

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2/DavionShores/TankWIP2.jpg

Just a note: I was trying to keep it pretty low poly as I'm probably going to use bump maps and other mapping techniques to make it more detailed then the model really is, I just really wanted a clean low poly model.

So, if there's any advice on how I can make it cleaner, or if there is anything you see wrong with it please critique.

Just a few questions that come to mind as well:

1. Is it wise to leave the parts you want animated to be seperate from the rest of the mesh in this case? Is that even good to do in any case?

2. How does animation actually work for game models? Do I just say, animate the turret moving and then export it to the required format? I'm not really sure how this works as I might need to animate it later.

3. On animation still, are there ways in Maya (I'm using 6.01 right now) to do several animations and export them all into one file on export?

If anyone can answer these it'd be appreciated :)

And it'd also be appreciated if you give me some feedback on my model thus far.

Thanks for your time...

Por@szek
11-03-2005, 08:23 AM
Hi

At first welcome on the forum.