PDA

View Full Version : how to improve this interior.

sabwab
11-02-2005, 12:28 PM
hello,

this basic interior i wish it to render fast. but also needs about the same shadows like this.
but the quality is poor, a lot of artifacts. They are at the doors and 'windowbench'

so how do the pro's improve this? i keep on trying and it just not working right now.

i have an omni for the sun, and an area for skylight. also a sky for blue tinted atmosphere,
but that totally isnt visible. Also i have the glass excluded from the lights.

thanks if someone has answers.

Alex

sabwab
11-02-2005, 01:06 PM
i think also the size of the 3D i import should be noticed
its in mm lets say 1000 units normally
-
and this new render is getting closer, now theres splotches.

im really new to this all, perhabs i should post this somewere else.
you make the call
ALex

nycL45
11-02-2005, 01:51 PM
As a starting point, try the following settings:

GI: Strength 100%; Accuracy 40%; Prepass 1/1; Diffusion Depth 1; Stochastics 600; Min Resolution 100; Max Res 500

Options: Ray Depth 3; Shadow Depth 3

Let me know how that works.

Cheers

sabwab
11-02-2005, 02:47 PM
well that helps speed it up,

with colormapping i could get more light there. perhabs better for the image.

what do you think about the quality?

nycL45
11-02-2005, 03:08 PM
You may want to increase the GI>Accuracy in 10% increments up to 90% to decrease/eliminate the artifacts.

The artifacts in your image are controlled with the Max. setting, that is corners and curved surfaces. The Min. is for flat open/middle areas. The approximate ratio range of Min:Max is 1:5 to 1:1. If you up either, use this ratio. The Max setting I gave should work without having to increase it.

For quick render checks, try "Render Region" the artifact areas.

To add light, try adding an interior low brightness Omni with no shadows and at different light levels and set to your liking.

Experiment, check the manual and have fun.

sabwab
11-02-2005, 03:12 PM