PDA

View Full Version : Email Note When Render Is Over - Apple Osx

oneczech
10-30-2005, 09:41 AM
Hi there,
this may be a question from out of this universe, but asking is learning .. so I just wonder if .. I'm not a programer so I have very little idea of the technical limitations of today's systems ... so i hope this is not too crazy:-)

I was wondering if there was a way how to script a function somewhere (on Apple OSX Tiger - AppleScript or Terminal or whatever) so when batch rendering in terminal is OVER, my mail app would send me an email notification from the office so I could get it at home. Ideally I would prefer a cell phone SMS message:-) .... but I'm already asking for too much with email, am I not?

I though of this when reading about the OSX Folder Actions ... when a specific file is put into a specific folder the script would use the mail and send a note .... or would the terminal be able to do that? I'm by no means a technical man, programmer .. this only occured to me as an idea .... so if it is reasonale it would be great, if not ... well just asking ..

thank you

YourDaftPunk
11-01-2005, 04:16 AM
Nobody is helping so I'll take a crack at it. No promises though: can't test this on my Windows box and I haven't used this stuff before!

You need two files- a mel script ending in ".mel" and an applescript ending in ".scpt".
Put the emailRender.mel in your maya/6.5/scripts/ folder and emailRender.scpt in your user folder.

The mel script would be one line:
exec ("osascript /Users/***your username here***/emailRender.scpt");

The applescript to launch the Mail.app program:
tell application "Mail"
set accountAddresses to (((your email addresses here)))
set fromAddress to first item of accountAddresses
set theMessage to make new outgoing message
set visible of theMessage to true
set subject of theMessage to "your subject here"
set content of theMessage to "your message body"
activate
end tell