PDA

View Full Version : DIAMOND TEST WITH C4d


Jeet
10-30-2005, 04:26 AM
Dear friends...

Attached image is for testing perpose... Let me to have some opinions...

I have used one keylight only...


http://img466.imageshack.us/img466/8227/test1jl.th.jpg (http://img466.imageshack.us/my.php?image=test1jl.jpg)

I am gonna fake the dispersion little in the image... but i need to ask in which channel it would be better to fake it? i mean in reflection, or specular color, or etc...

Suggestions are most welcome...

Regards

Jeet.

DynamicRealism
10-30-2005, 04:35 AM
very nice! curious if u can pass along the scene file =)

Petticoat Gal
10-30-2005, 08:54 AM
very nice! curious if u can pass along the scene file =)U so funny one :)
Pass the scene file for a non existent attachment hahahahahaha

Byla
10-30-2005, 09:15 AM
U so funny one :)
Pass the scene file for a non existent attachment hahahahahaha

e?

it would be nice to see the scene! Yeah!

tonyg3d
10-30-2005, 09:57 AM
I can see the image and the diamonds look great! :curious:

Jeet
10-30-2005, 10:22 AM
Dear friend,

The diamonds are lacking the dispersion... hense bit enhancement...

http://img469.imageshack.us/img469/7529/test0012rz.th.jpg (http://img469.imageshack.us/my.php?image=test0012rz.jpg)

Regards

Jeet.

vid2k2
10-30-2005, 10:42 AM
Hello Jeet,

By the very nature of a diamond, without flaws, IMO you do not
need dispersion. If you look at photos and real life diamonds, they
are always sharp and clear.

If anything, and I stress "ANYTHING", adding a sky may lend more
visual interest. From that point on, it's a matter of personal taste.

Hope that helps

Jeet
10-30-2005, 10:45 AM
Dear friend...

vid2k2...

Diamond is in my hand and i can see the color effect...

May be its not very good quality but its what more people wear in day to day life..

regards

jeet.

vid2k2
10-30-2005, 10:50 AM
Then it's hard to say what to adjust since I'm not that fortunate
in having a diamond in hand. If you like, I can adjust your file
to see if I can make some adjustments. Another thing you may do
is to take a digital photo of it against a neutral backgeound and
see if you see what the camera sees. From there, it may be easier
to make your determination.

Glyptic
10-30-2005, 01:34 PM
Hi, Jeet,

Check out the Spectral Magic plug in. Its free for 7 days.
And look at what kind of light you are using. Use full spectrum, or about 5000 Kelvins, I think.
And be sure to set your refractive index.
I agree with you, the water white look is not what diamonds look like.
You can also get a good jpg, and put it in as a Texture. Its totally "fake" but can make for some awsome renders if you're not a purist about rendering.
Good luck, diamonds are tough.
cheers,
glyptic

lllab
10-30-2005, 03:16 PM
with dispersion it is not meant blurry but the effect of spectral color...

very nice diamonds:-)))
what kind of reflection surounding did you use?

cheers
stefan

Daoine
10-30-2005, 03:20 PM
Here's some diamonds made with Bobtronics colorchanger




http://www.bobtronic.de/gallery/gallery/usergallery/colorchanger/cc_brilliants.jpg

you can get colorchanger here (http://www.bobtronic.de/plugins/)

Hope this is what your looking for,
Daoine

Jeet
10-30-2005, 05:10 PM
with dispersion it is not meant blurry but the effect of spectral color...

very nice diamonds:-)))
what kind of reflection surounding did you use?

cheers
stefan

Thankx for your comments..

In reflection channel i have used simple gradient between black and white.

Transparency channel i have used 3 color gradient of white black and light-sky color

and the dispersion i have faked with rainbow colors in specular color channel..

scene contains one keylight only.

still i want to achieve the following realism...

http://img465.imageshack.us/img465/3761/trillionstraight9zh.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

regards

jeet.

Newstream
10-30-2005, 05:49 PM
I'm impressed.

Nice work Jeet! :thumbsup:
/ Alex

Jeet
10-30-2005, 05:52 PM
I'm impressed.

Nice work Jeet! :thumbsup:
/ Alex

Thankyou friend....

I think you are using maxwell... how fine the rendering with dispersion in maxwell?

regards

jeet.

Newstream
10-30-2005, 06:10 PM
Thankyou friend....

I think you are using maxwell... how fine the rendering with dispersion in maxwell?

regards

jeet.

I have Maxwell but haven't had much time and opportunity to play with it enough to give a good answer but I have seen some cool looking diamond renders at:

http://www.maxwellrender.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7117&highlight=diamond
http://www.maxwellrender.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7297&highlight=diamond

/ Alex

Petticoat Gal
10-31-2005, 01:11 AM
Now I know why I cannot see the image.
because of the corrupted HTML code:

<a href="http://img466.imageshack.us/my.php?image=test1jl.jpg" target="_blank"> </a><br />
<br />

there seems to be a long 'space' as hyperlink text.

Oh, I see, its a scripted image. Sure then my firewall blocks that.

Jeet, aap kaise hai?
dont you have any normal images somewhere? Do you only have scripted images?

Hettinger
10-31-2005, 02:23 AM
Do what they do in the jewelry store, put about 20 different colored lights on it so it shines like crazy. Not sure how you have your material set, but setting your lights to specular only might help.

Jeet
10-31-2005, 03:56 AM
Now I know why I cannot see the image.
because of the corrupted HTML code:



there seems to be a long 'space' as hyperlink text.

Oh, I see, its a scripted image. Sure then my firewall blocks that.

Jeet, aap kaise hai?
dont you have any normal images somewhere? Do you only have scripted images?

I think the image is still working... no error with script...

i am fine...

are you from india?

regards

jeet.

Jeet
10-31-2005, 03:57 AM
Do what they do in the jewelry store, put about 20 different colored lights on it so it shines like crazy. Not sure how you have your material set, but setting your lights to specular only might help.

I didnt get you....

What do you mean by setting your lights to specular?

specular property of material or light?

sorry not getting...

regards

jeet

Petticoat Gal
10-31-2005, 07:05 AM
I think the image is still working... no error with script...

I also found out that it might work.
The only thing is, I just figured that out this morning:
My firewall blocks some images.

CGTalk Moderation
10-31-2005, 07:05 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.