PDA

View Full Version : Multi-pass shadows JACKED!


PhillipCrond
10-28-2005, 09:05 PM
I need some advice on this.

I can only show some tiny portions of the renders, but when I render this object with 7.0's multipass rendering, the shadow pass comes out with horrible banding and artifacts -- even shadows where there shouldn't be.

1) The beauty pass shows the shadows exactly as they should be.

2) It doesn't matter which renderer (maya, mr) or shadow type (depth map, raytrace) I use, the shadow pass is similarly messed up.

Here's what I'm up against.

http://www.thesecretmission.com/cgtalk/Abeauty.jpghttp://www.thesecretmission.com/cgtalk/Acomp.jpghttp://www.thesecretmission.com/cgtalk/Ashadow.jpg
beauty pass with shadows / color pass and shadow pass combined / shadow pass alone

http://www.thesecretmission.com/cgtalk/Bbeauty.jpghttp://www.thesecretmission.com/cgtalk/Bcomp.jpghttp://www.thesecretmission.com/cgtalk/Bshadow.jpg
beauty pass with shadows / color pass and shadow pass combined / shadow pass alone

The shadow passes are completely freaky across the whole character, and there's no reason for it. I need to comp shadows separately, of course, and this ain't working out for me.

Anyone know what this is all about?

THanks!
Brent

BillSpradlin
10-28-2005, 09:14 PM
I wouldn't ever use the render passes in Maya, even the new render layer system is extremely buggy and I avoid using it in any production at all costs. Have you tried just using the "old" method of applying a use background shader and rendering it in a seperate scene?

PhillipCrond
10-28-2005, 09:25 PM
I wouldn't ever use the render passes in Maya, even the new render layer system is extremely buggy and I avoid using it in any production at all costs. Have you tried just using the "old" method of applying a use background shader and rendering it in a seperate scene?

That method works just fine. I'm trying to avoid it, however, because I'm trying to set up a "one-click" pipeline for this project (for numerous reasons) where mocap data will be read onto the character, the render farm will get the shot, and everything will be neatly foldered and ready for Shake in the morning. The new render passes were going to work perfectly because I wouldn't have to script out all of my material and lighting changes to get the multiple passes to behave the way they should.

All Maya quirks, erm, features aside, has anyone encountered this before and found a way to fix it? Is it hopeless?

colt
10-29-2005, 12:12 PM
I'm sure you've already checked, but are your normals correct?

MasonDoran
10-31-2005, 07:51 AM
is it possible the shadow pass is also catching reflections? I know the Use Background Shader also catches reflections....did u turn that off?

PhillipCrond
11-01-2005, 05:58 AM
is it possible the shadow pass is also catching reflections? I know the Use Background Shader also catches reflections....did u turn that off?

Yup, the reflections are set to 0.0 on the usebackground floor plane, but incidentally, the floor plane is the only thing that has correctly rendered shadows on it. And yes, my normals are all correct as well.

The odd thing is that the shadows render just as you'd expect in the beauty pass, it's only when it tries to render the shadows on their own that things get hairy. Still trying to figure this out, but if it doesn't happen in the next couple of days, I'm going to have to get into MEL hell, making scripts that switch out materials and force a clean shadow pass to happen the old fashioned way. Please, don't make me do it!

CGTalk Moderation
11-01-2005, 05:58 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.