PDA

View Full Version : weapon:Old Sword

werd
10-28-2005, 12:42 AM
This is my "worn" sword. Ive been making a collection of low poly weapons and this is the first one Ive started textures on. I wanted an old feel for it, kinda worn out and used looking.

the model is 198 tris, textures are drawn on 512x512.
I know its simple but im just getting the hang of the low poly thing.
http://usera.imagecave.com/werd/medswordrender.jpg
http://usera.imagecave.com/werd/medswordrenderwire.jpg

orko60
10-28-2005, 01:22 AM
Why make it so low poly, if you don't mind me asking, in this day and age? Weapons in FPS games now are running a few thousand polys.

werd
10-28-2005, 01:36 AM
Well, first I didn't realy mean it for a fps game, more just to see what I could do with a few polys. Second, because thats realy all I needed I guess, it doesnt look that bad does it? Thirdly, I realy have no clue what im doing with game models, or any models for that matter:) . Im still relatively new at this.

orko60
10-28-2005, 01:59 AM
I didn't say it was bad; it's not. I'm jsut wondering what the purpose of such a low poly-count is. :)

I am also new at this! Good luck to both of us!

-Zack

SHEPEIRO
10-28-2005, 04:18 PM
hey man good job,:)
this is fine for something like a rpg, or perhaps even a next gen rts, what evea i would say low poly count is good, but you could go even lower poly, but i think you have a nice flow of polys as it is, and the texture is nice too.

the only thing i would change is perhaps add some detail around the hilt, maybe make the band between hilt and handle another colour, plus maybe make the wound thread on the handle tighter(thinner)

werd
10-28-2005, 04:53 PM