PDA

View Full Version : Any 3D Artists on here in NY?

greendog
10-27-2005, 01:56 PM
Hey guys, i've been a member for a while now, and I have been unsuccessfully scowering the internet for anyone in my area that's into 3D. So if there's anyone in the NY area that wants to hang out, or knows a group or club that I can get involved in, it would be greatly appreciated. I would like to hang out and talk 3D with any number of people, possibly learn a new thing or two.

PhilWesson
10-27-2005, 02:30 PM
There are a few NY CGtalkers from what I can tell (i'm from SW CT myself). Look for MJV and BigJay.. I'm sure there are more.

greendog
10-27-2005, 02:43 PM
CT is cool too.... it's just so hard for some reason to find other people (Besides the people I graduated College with) that are into 3D in this general part of the US..... that's it! I'm moving! :D

Hypersona
10-27-2005, 02:45 PM
Im not in NY, but close enough. Central NJ. In NY every weekend though. You should check out NY 3D Studio Max Users Group, http://www.3dsny.com/. Not sure if you use max but its a good resource and group nonetheless. Meetings could be more often, but thats my only complaint.

PhilWesson
10-27-2005, 03:15 PM
What software are you using Greendog?

greendog
10-27-2005, 03:20 PM
Well, in school they taught us the basics of 3DS Max and Maya, but I went off on my own (because I felt I wasn't being taught enough) and learned more advanced features of Max and Maya and some other software like ZBrush and such. I'm in the process of trying to learn XSI I just have to find the time to sit down and do it. I'm also a Web Designer trying to get out of the Web Design buisness, so I've been using things like Photoshop, Illustrator, and Flash for like 10 years.

cookepuss
10-27-2005, 04:31 PM