PDA

View Full Version : Closed Gallery Lighting trouble

berilac
10-16-2005, 04:02 PM
Hi guys,

I am having a load of trouble setting up lighting in a gallery still shot.

It is for a friend, and he asked for a white walled gallery room with white plinths running down either side, each spot lit from above. The floor will be an off-white colour.

I have set up the basic scene just to get a feel for the lighting, as that is the most important factor in a scene like this.

Unfortunately, the room has no windows, so all the lighting threads and tutorials I have read kind of fall short. Unless of course I missed the point of them.

The thing is, I have set up twelve spots, but turned them off as initially I would like to set up the ambient light, so wish to do this a simply as possible to get a pure white feeling for the room.

Here is a wire shot of the scene; I have tried different set ups but have gotten nowhere. All there is is one huge area light, as I have no experience in scene lighting apart from what I've read and logically (well at least for me) this was my first choice.

Any advice would be most greatfully appreciated!

Thanks everyone.

Michael

Zarathustra
10-16-2005, 04:20 PM
I'm rendering right now or else I might take a stab at a mock up.

There was a thread recently this week with a similiar environment, closed room, no windows. It had a scaffold. Check that thread.

Do you want GI or no? GI is nice but I usually do a lot with area lights. More work but faster render (and preview in FP). You have to manually place lights to account for the bounce light you get with GI. That means at least having lights shine out from the walls, floor and ceiling with falloff and colored.

Search for threads by Otacon.

Sorry, that wasn't much but maybe gets you started

berilac
10-16-2005, 05:50 PM
That certainly does get me started. Thank you, and I shall search the forums now.