PDA

View Full Version : How to add knots to an edit spline modifier


Jon Huhn
10-15-2005, 08:38 AM
I'm just starting out at this Maxscript stuff, so hopefully the solution is an easy one.

I have a spline, and with script I'm adding an edit spline modifer to it, and trying to subdivide it with additional knots. When I do this, however, the knots are applied to the base level, and not the edit spline modifier.

How can I add the knots to the modifier and not the base level?

Here's my simplified code, which in this case is only trying to add one knot in the middle of the first segment on the first spline in the curently selected shape:

(
addModifier $ (Edit_Spline())
refineSegment $ 1 1 .5
)


Thanks in advance.

j-man
10-17-2005, 11:53 AM
Hi Jon,


AFAIK this is a limitation of maxsxript, both with splines and mesh's. You will need to work on the baseobject.

Good luck!

Josh.

Jon Huhn
10-17-2005, 02:38 PM
That's a shame. Oh well, maybe in a future release. Still plenty of power to be had with the current version!

Thanks for your time!

CGTalk Moderation
10-17-2005, 02:38 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.