PDA

View Full Version : DV Codec Compression

wottodo
10-14-2005, 11:48 PM
Hi,

Does anyone know what kind of quality difference there is between different DV codecs? I've seen that Canopus has a 'broadcast quality' DV capture unit, costing about $3200... At $3200, I would hope to see quite a bit of quality improvement over the standard Microsoft DV codec. However I have had no experience in this field, as I have never had access to that kind of equipment. So my question(s) is(are), are there significant quality differences between different DV codecs? Is it possible that my XL2 is recording nice footage, but it's getting ruined when I capture it using a standard Microsoft codec? If so, can I get the better quality with a software codec, or would I need to get a hardware capture card (such as a canopus or pinnacle)?

Integrity
10-15-2005, 03:31 AM
As far as I know there is no difference in the "image quality" of the different DV codecs. They all adhere to the DV format (well some), which is always compressed and stored the same way at a rate of 25 Mbps. The reason it's $3200 is because your paying for the hardware that decompresses/compresses the DV and other things on the fly instead of having your CPU decompress/compress it as with software codecs. Most consider the software ones better now since CPU speed's are very high compared to back then when getting a hardware version was faster.

That Microsoft codec, if your wondering why the quality is bad when you play it in Media Player, is because it renders it out at half the resolution on playback for performance reasons, when you mess around with it in an NLE it'll look fine.