PDA

View Full Version : How many of you artist have traditional painting experience?

-NG-
10-13-2005, 01:40 PM
Out of curiosity i wanted to ask how much of you have traditional art and paint expirience? I'm a beginner at painting and are trying to create my own style and am thinking of starting to follow a few evening classes of traditional still live painting, to get comfortable with the different techniques used so i can use the knowledge in digital painting.

I've got books from balistic, dvd's from gnonom and so on, but am not sure if those teach you fundementals in painting and illustration.

feldy
10-13-2005, 01:42 PM
i have a tradtional background in painting and drawing but when i went to college for 3d i nevr eneded up painting agian

paperclip
10-13-2005, 05:50 PM
I do...been painting/drawing trad for the past 8 years ish. (more focused in the past 2 years)

I really believe that digital helps your trad painting and vice versa. You can get very rich colors in PS that's hard to get in trad. This will help you with your color sense. Also you can practice painting with your wacom-- you get to learn, but without the mess/waste of good paints. Everyone wins! :thumbsup:

reven
10-13-2005, 06:03 PM
i have studied art from the traditional sense...watercolor, sumi-e, sculpting, color and design...

and i think, all of this lends itself to working on the computer...i still sketch constantly, on all my notes for what to buy for dinner:) i think watercolor was especially helpful to the thinking when working with pixels and light and color...and in terms of working in 3d, i think my high school drafting was great...but, i am about to get a big sketch pad and start refining my work in terms of imaginative and fantasy drawing!

radha
10-13-2005, 06:31 PM
Hi there,