PDA

View Full Version : displaying text overlays in the viewport (floating on objects)


Aearon
10-12-2005, 03:37 PM
hi guys,

is there anyway to display floating text above an object using maxscript? (see example image)

http://www.kaistavginski.de/files/webstuff/textOverlay.gif

j-man
10-12-2005, 04:27 PM
Hi Aeron,

Search for gw.text

Cheers,


antonv
10-12-2005, 05:49 PM
This is a piece of code that Bobo showed at this year's Siggraph MaxScript class. I think this is exaclty what you need:

unRegisterRedrawViewsCallback showObjectNames
fn showObjectNames=
(
gw.setTransform(Matrix3 1)
for o in objects where not o.isHidden do
(
gw.text o.pos (o.name) color:yellow
gw.text (o.pos+[0,0,-2]) (o.pos as string) color:yellow
)
gw.enlargeUpdateRect #whole
gw.updateScreen()
)
registerRedrawViewsCallback showObjectNames
showObjectNames()


I've already used it to make a script that shows the name and coordinates of some objects in the scene. It saves a lot of time when doing camera tracking.

Bobo
10-12-2005, 06:16 PM
This is a piece of code that Bobo showed at this year's Siggraph MaxScript class. I think this is exaclty what you need:


To make it a single line, you can also replace the code lines

gw.text o.pos (o.name) color:yellow
gw.text (o.pos+[0,0,-2]) (o.pos as string) color:yellow

with

gw.text o.pos (o as string) color:yellow

because the MXS object signature shows both the class, the name and the position of the object...

stuh505
10-12-2005, 09:34 PM
Cool, these "gw" functions open up a lot of new possibilities...

Aearon
10-12-2005, 10:29 PM
thanks for the help guys,

there's a problem though: when i execute the script the text is sometimes displayed, sometimes not at all. when it is displayed at first, it disappears when i pan the viewport or do anything else the causes a redraw

am i missing something?

stuh505
10-12-2005, 10:39 PM
they didn't disappear when I moved around the viewport, although they were very flickery...I am not sure why they would have such a poor redraw rate since I have a quadro 3000, unless they are all getting slowly interpreted through max

Aearon
10-12-2005, 10:46 PM
i have a quadro 3000 as well

i just tested with various drivers... opengl and maxtreme work great, directx: nada

stuh505
10-12-2005, 11:15 PM
The question is why were you using directx in the first place?

Bobo
10-13-2005, 12:45 AM
The question is why were you using directx in the first place?

Because DX cached meshes are several dozen times faster? ;)
Of course, if you have MAXtreme, performance should be similar.

CGTalk Moderation
10-13-2005, 12:45 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.