PDA

View Full Version : Digital concept art: Size and resolution?

TsunamiZ
10-11-2005, 02:23 AM
For drawing and painting professional digital concept art in Photoshop, what are the dimensions and DPI generally used? For example: 8x11 in. 300 DPI. I particularily want to know what DPI is commonly used for digital painting. 300 DPI, 200 DPI, or what? Thanks.

Reaver2k
10-11-2005, 07:17 PM
Im no pro on this but as far as I've heard

300DPI = Printing
72+ = Internet showing?

Possibly wrong but I THINK thats what people have said.

TsunamiZ
10-11-2005, 07:20 PM
I know the art is converted to a 72 DPI version for display on the web. But I wonder: What DPI the originals are made in?

gabeg
10-12-2005, 06:14 AM
I always set my images to 300 dpi for printing. And they turn out great. Lithograph quality, given a good printer.

duddlebug
10-12-2005, 12:28 PM
I think people get hung up on the dpi of an image, which isn't always the crucial consideration. You should also be considering the pixel dimensions, because that's what determines the size of the image in memory, how fast your machine is going to run while you're painting it and how long it'll take to download on the web. You'll get great quality at 300dpi when printing, but your screen only displays at 72dpi. So it really depends on what you're what you're producing images for... print... or web... or both...

For instance, an A4 image at 300dpi is 3508x2480. If you convert it to 72dpi using 'image size' then it'd be 842x595. Just to state the obvious, the important bit is making sure you produce the original image with the bigger dimensions... you can't 'upsample' a 72dpi image to 300dpi image for printing. Unless it's a lot bigger than your print size to start with. (And you untick 'resample image' when performing your 'image size'.)