PDA

View Full Version : Interprocess communication


la_piaga
10-08-2005, 12:25 PM
Hi, is it possibile to send and receive data from an external (custom written) application in maxscript?
At first i considered using the standar sockets but couldn't find any mention in the maxscript documentation. Any suggestions?
Thanks.

P.S. now i'm using a textfile that i check at constant time steps for modifications, but a less awkward solution would be appreciated :)

erilaz
10-08-2005, 12:31 PM
You'd probably be able to do this via the activeX interfacing in maxscript.

la_piaga
10-08-2005, 12:47 PM
Hoped to find an effortless solution :D (i'm not used with ActiveX interfaces) but in the end it is probably the best way to go. Thanks a lot.

magicm
10-08-2005, 01:20 PM
la_piaga,

I've written a simple chat and file-transfer script to test the winsock control some time ago, I'll check if it's still on my hd somewhere when I'm at home and post it here.

Not an efforless solution though, solid winsock communication and error handling results in a lot of script ;)

- Martijn

stuh505
10-08-2005, 05:54 PM
I've written a simple chat and file-transfer script to test the winsock control some time ago, I'll check if it's still on my hd somewhere when I'm at home and post it here.

I'd LOVE to see this...

la_piaga
10-10-2005, 11:36 AM
la_piaga,

I've written a simple chat and file-transfer script to test the winsock control some time ago, I'll check if it's still on my hd somewhere when I'm at home and post it here.

It would be great, Thank you! :)

dazza111
06-30-2006, 11:54 PM
la_piaga,

I've written a simple chat and file-transfer script to test the winsock control some time ago, I'll check if it's still on my hd somewhere when I'm at home and post it here.

Not an efforless solution though, solid winsock communication and error handling results in a lot of script ;)

- Martijn

Hi la_piaga and Martign
Can you send me the results of these experiments as I am trying to do some interprocess communication - I want to exchange data and messages between VB and maxscript. I know how to write activex controls but don't know how to work with them in maxscript. Any help would be appreciated.
thanks david

Rambutan
07-02-2006, 11:48 PM
AX Controls are not that hard to work with, you can run into some difficulty if VB variable types not able to be translated into MSX types.

I use them all the time: Treeview, mySQL ODBC, Flash etc. And it's even easier if you write the control your self because you can format the data returned to MSX how you want it.

If you have any specific questions please post them so we can have a crack at them.

You always have the option to break out the SDK ;)



RAM

CGTalk Moderation
07-02-2006, 11:48 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.