PDA

View Full Version : Using an image as a mask...


Xion-Cajou
10-06-2005, 09:56 PM
Hi,

this is a very basic question, but i didnt find anything about this topic...
I want to comp 2 layers using a mask, now i know how to paint masks
and other techniques to combine images, but i want to use a greyscale
image as a mask and i didnt find any way to do this.

Some good ideas would really be appreciated.

scrimski
10-06-2005, 10:26 PM
Create a new layer, paste the greyscale image into tat layer, 'select all' that layer, copy it. Create a new alpha channel, paste the clipboard into it. Choose the selection too, Hold down CRTL( or STRG in your case) and leftclik the alpha channel on the layer/Channel tab. Hit CRTL+C, go into the layers, selct one of the layers you want to merge and with the selection still active clicke the 'Create Mask' button (not sure about that name).

And it was the Gärtner, it's immer the Gärtner.

Xion-Cajou
10-06-2005, 11:09 PM
Thanks scrimski, thats what i wanted to do ,works perfect.

halo
10-06-2005, 11:32 PM
look up layer masks as well.

CGTalk Moderation
10-06-2005, 11:32 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.