PDA

View Full Version : WIP: Sci-Fi soldier/normalmap

Snefer
10-05-2005, 08:00 PM
This is my first attempt at creating normalmaps. I could use some help (or.. extremely much, more likely) which is the best? Creating the lowpoly first, UVmappping it, then making the highpoly, or doing the highpoly, UVmapping it, and then making it a lowpoly? :-/ I'm not sure what to do. Right now I have a lowpoly version, and I'm working on a highpolyversion.

The lowpoly is about 2000 tris. Should I make it more, to accentuate some of the detail? What is the most iportant thing when nromalmapping? What resolution should you have for the normalmap, the same as the colur/bump map etc?

Anyway, here's the highpoly and the lowpoly for you. Cheers! / Tor

space donkey
10-05-2005, 08:31 PM
Hey askguden, for a first attempt at this it is definately a positive start. The armor seems a bit blocky but that may depend on the style you're going for. As for as the workflow for normal mapping it differs person to person and case by case. The only way to find which way suits you best is just by doing it.

for me personally, with a character like this, I would do the high poly first. You can pay no attention to the mesh as far as how it will deform and there is also no reason to uvmap the high, it is there strictly for surface detail. once that is complete, build the low poly using the high one as a 3D profile sheet. Now that is the one that needs to deform and also envelop all the major curvature geometry from the high - things that need a silhouette at any given angle, cause those are parts that cant be defined by a normal map.

Resolution for the normal map is based entirely on your target engine/platform. Just keep in mind normal maps are textures that you don't want to compress. hope that helps.

AdamAtomic
10-05-2005, 08:45 PM