PDA

View Full Version : help with proper syntex

mondo-ray
10-04-2005, 03:57 PM
hello,
i'm pretty new to mel... i'm just trying to do the simplest thing but having a hard time.
wonder if anybody can help. i don't even know where to start for looking up a proper syntex. anyways... here's what i'm trying to do.

i'm trying to move an effector to a specified place using a value from a locator
so...

getAttr locator1.t;

and get a vaule of say 5 0 0. what i'm trying to do is subsitute that value for the move,

move 5 0 0 effector1.scalePivot effector1.rotatePivot;

i figured... doing something like this would work... but it doesn't,

move `getAttr locator1.t` effector1.scalePivot effector1.rotatePivot;

i have no idea what i'm doing.
if anybody can recommend me any good books on mel for a starter or shine some light on this thing it'd be very much appreciated. thank you. =]

help a noob out. eh?

swardson
10-04-2005, 05:35 PM
I was once in your shoes, and getting started with Mel can be strange especially if you have never coded before.

First, a very good way to learn the syntax is to open the script editor and go to (Script/Echo All Commands. Then actually do things in maya and watch the mel commands execute in the script editor.

Seccond, if you go to the help menu and open the Mel Command Reference, you have acccess to mel commands, flags, descriptions and samples of how to use them. Great resource.

Third, downloading other peoples scripts and going through them to see how they did certain things is a great way to learn.

Fourth, tutorials... you can find tutorials on learningmaya.com, highend3d.com etc. Just Google them and see what you come up with.

Fifth, Check out these books:
MEL scripting for maya animators http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1558608419/qid=1128447235/sr=8-2/ref=pd_bbs_2/102-0567779-2528908?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

and