PDA

View Full Version : Rigging, crashing and major distress.

abb25
10-04-2005, 02:44 PM
Hi,

I've been Following Jason Osipa's Book Stop Staring to create facial blendshapes for a character I have made and used the script to connect it to his interface. I attached the head to the body and it was all working fine. I made the rig and it seems to be working fine but whenever I try binding it to the skin Maya crashes with a fatal error. I am a complete maya novice and have no idea why it is happening. Has anyone else encountered this and know what is going on?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-abb

Dichotomy
10-04-2005, 11:45 PM
i've never ran into that... one thing you can do, to see if it is the face setup, is just delete the history on the mesh, and then try to attach it to the rig. If it doesn't crash from that, it might be because of the setup that it has on it from the face setup. lets see... if that doesn't work, you might try having maya ignore all the nodes... Modify>EvaluateNodes>IgnoreAll... that can sometimes work (kindof a jimmy-rig style fix). If that doesn't work... and you have permission to, I'd be willing to check your file out, kinda tough to troubleshoot without seeing it.
(Im using 6.0 still)
let me know,

abb25
10-07-2005, 11:08 AM
Hi Dichotomy,

Thank you so much, I tried deleting the history on the mesh and you're right it seems to be the face setup that is making it crash. Would it be possible to apply the face setup after it's been bound or would that mess things up further?
Thank you for your help, I think you've saved my computer from any undue acts of violence.

-abb

Gnimmel
10-08-2005, 03:47 PM