PDA

View Full Version : Why does paint (Digital Watercolor) act differently on Canvas as to other Layers?

White Knight
09-30-2005, 09:06 AM
I'm pretty new to Painter and I've just noticed my 'Digital Watercolors' seems to behave somewhat different on the Canvas-layer than on other layers. For example, when I paint with red it looks more brownish on other layers than the canvas. Also when I paint on an already painted area with light preassure it turns almost white as opposed to the Canvas-layer where it just turns slightly brighter.

I've noticed that, for some reason, when I check 'Preserve Transparency' on the other layers it starts to behave "properly" (as with the Canvas-layer). But how do I get other layers to behave like the canvas-layer without turning on 'Preserve Transparency'?

I guess some of you must have experienced something like this too?

Jinbrown
09-30-2005, 10:30 AM
Hi White,

Using red (R:255 G:0 B:0) and painting on both the Canvas and a Layer using the DWC's New Simple Water, Dry Brush, and Soft Broad Brush, I could see no difference in color between strokes painted on the Canvas and strokes painted on the Layer.

Since you don't say which DWC variants or exactly what red you're using, it's hard to do any testing to find out what's happening.

Some things I can point out are:

Digital Watercolor variants generally paint transparent strokes (the Dry Brush variant I used in my test above paints opaque strokes).

When Digital Watercolor is first painted on a Layer, the Layer is automatically changed to Composite Method Gel.

As long as the DWC brushtrokes are painted above a white Canvas, you won't see any difference between the Layer set to Default and the Layer set to Gel. Once there's color added below the Layer, you will see a difference because Composite Method Gel makes any color on the Layer transparent and that color darkens any color below it.