PDA

View Full Version : Autokey Whole Character Question XSI 5

My Fault
09-29-2005, 04:08 PM
I am pretty new to XSI and am currently trying out the XSI 5 demo and had a quick timeline/autokey question. I really like the new timeline and was wondering if I could show and move around whole characters in the timeline or can I only show and move around individual items? For instance I know I can select the foot IK null in the timeline and play with the timing but what if I want to move around both feet and hand controls at the same time? Do I have to individually select each part and move them or can I do whole groups?

Thanks for any help. Going through doc fils right now but was hoping someone could point me in a specific direction.

tuna
09-29-2005, 07:23 PM
You can select multiple objects and all of their keys will show on the timeline. Branch selection etc works the same.

[edit] Autokey wont work with branch selection, it'll still only key the object you selected. But all of the objects selected will show their keys in the timeline fine.

My Fault
09-29-2005, 07:37 PM
Ah ok, not exactly what I want but at least I know the limitations of the timeline. Thanks!

Mechis
09-29-2005, 09:53 PM
Do I have to individually select each part and move them or can I do whole groups?

I'm not sure I understand the difference between the choices in your question. Wouldn't you have to select the parts that you want to be keyed?

I'm not sure I understand your question, but I was able to do this-- create two primitives, set keys for them, if I select both, both objects' keys show up and I can any of them around. Also, if both are selected and I have autokey on, both objects have keys created.

I'm new to xsi, but I think it can do what you're asking....
Mechis
ps. Or maybe you're trying to key everything on a character at once? I think you can create a button that does that...

tuna
09-29-2005, 10:07 PM