PDA

View Full Version : Is there a MEL script that does this...

Maxim_311
09-28-2005, 07:56 PM
I'm an animator and in an effort to improve my workflow/quality I'm going down the path of only keying those things/values which have changed instead of just hitting the S key. But, I hate having to go up the channel box>right click on the attribute> then scroll down and hit key selected. Is there a script that I can map to the S key (or any shortcut) that will only key those attributes that have changed? So say I rotate the hand of a character in Y it will only set a key for Y-rotation and not X & Z.

Learning MEL is on my long list of things to learn how to do so I can't do it on my own right now. It seems like on the surface this would be something relatively simple to do. No specific naming conventions involved. Just something that does this to whatever item happens to be selected.

If anyone has any ideas, or wants to do this I'd be very gratefull. Or am I wrong and a script for this already exists. Thanks.

mhovland
09-28-2005, 08:10 PM
Can't you just use the "Auto Key" feature? This only sets a key on any attribute/value that you change. This of course will set a key for any changes, so say you rotate the hand control on X and Z, and then decide you don't need the X rotation, you will either have to undo back to before you changed the values, or manually remove the un-needed key.

Just a thought.

john_homer
09-29-2005, 02:15 AM
auto key does sound like what you want...
but if not, try this.. its just keys any channels that already have keys, on the selected objetcs ...

CODE]string $sel[] = `ls -sl`;
string $attrList[];
for ($current in $sel)
{
$attrList = `listAttr -k $current`;
for ($attr in $attrList)
{
int $keyCount = `keyframe -at $attr-query -kc $current`;
if ($keyCount > 0)
setKeyframe -at $attr $current;
}
}[/CODE]

brubin
09-29-2005, 10:59 AM