PDA

View Full Version : generative tool

fbitonti
09-27-2005, 08:07 PM
Ok i'm an architecture student exploring mel scripting as a means of generating geometry. I'm working on this littel script....

for ($i = 0; $i < 20; $i = $i + 1)
{
float $curvealgo = sin($i) *$i/4;
string $name = "test" + $i;
duplicate -rr;
move -r 1 $curvealgo 0;
rename ("test" + $i);
print ($name);

if($name.translateX < 0){
move -r 1 50 0;
}
}

My ultimage goal is to have the script douplicate a specific geometry while responding to it's enviroment for example moving around a box instead of going directly through it. My problem is this... To do this I need to set up an if statement... I think (this is somewhat new to me) and use that statement to check the position of the object and if it's x,y,z value is greater than a specific value I want to execute a new series of comands. I am getting syntax errors with this script... how can I intergrate the if statement into this loop. Please respond quickly. I realy appreciate all your help.

swardson
09-27-2005, 08:22 PM
I am confused about whether or not you are writing a mel script or an expression. If you are writing a mel script, here is your problem:

move -r 1 50 0;
}

you cant directly get the value of of an objects attribute from mel, only from an expression.

to do this, you want to use the getAttr function.

string $object = ($name + ".translateX");
float $nameTX = `getAttr $object`;
if ($nameTX <0){
move -r 1 50 0;
}

if you are writing an expression that continually executes, you will want to avoid getAttr and use something else.

let me know if this helps or if I am confused

-Brad

fbitonti
09-27-2005, 08:27 PM
Ok i'm still having the problem

for ($i = 0; $i < 20; $i = $i + 1)
{
duplicate -rr;
move -r 1 $curvealgo 0;
rename ("test" + $i);
print ($name);

move -r 1 50 0;
}
}

This is what my script looks like now but i'm still getting the syntax error.

The way i'm using this is that I'm creating a nurbs object.

then i'm selecting it