PDA

View Full Version : chamfer edges modifier? easy to make?


mynewcat
09-27-2005, 11:10 AM
Hey guys - I'm developed a funky workflow modelling technique that looks a bit like this:


4 ffd modifier
3 turbosmooth
2 edit poly - chamfer all edges
1 edit poly - box model basic shape


What I'm basically doing is box modelling basic shapes in a comic style, so that they have filleted edges and enough tesselation to be deformed as I want.

I find that the above stack does this quickly and effeciently.. although as I write this I kind of realise I don't need that turbsmooth modifer and could use nurms at point 2.

The thing is, all the edit poly at point 2 does is slightly chamfer all the edges from point one.... and it's hassle to have to do it manually.
I'd love to have a modifier that all it did was chamfer all edges, or all selected edges passed up the stack.

Now, I don't know if some crazy fool has already written this (wait while I google it - nope) but how hard would it be to turn a script into an actual modifier that worked in the way I want?

Can anyone talk to me about this?
does anyone fancy writing it it? - :bounce:

cheers.

EricChadwick
09-27-2005, 02:55 PM
Well, no one's responded yet, so I'll offer a couple ideas.

F-edge looks pretty cool, might do what you want.
http://www.ddag.org/

Orionflame has a cool Chamfer tool that speeds up the process a lot... chamfers based on user-defined face-angles, among many other things.
http://orionflame.com/discover/Pages/04-02.htm (look down a bit for Chamfer X, see some vids)

soulburn3d
09-27-2005, 05:18 PM
This modifier is a common wish, and I agree, it would be uber useful.

- Neil

mynewcat
09-27-2005, 08:34 PM
What we need is a prolific scriptwr.... hang on, you haven't written us a "relative urls" script yet!

I suppose is some small crazy way I ought to write it myself.... but that's exactly what they want us to do!

But that means having to work out if it's possible to turn a script into a modifier and then somehow only using the portions of an editable poly modifier, the chamfer, but in some way to be adjustable at all times - possibly hooked into a global value.

Nah man, it sounds too complicated for script.

Anyone reading this up for it??

magicm
09-27-2005, 09:20 PM
You might like this plugin written by Vladislav Gavrilov.. I have no idea how I got this plugin and I can't find any info about it on the web either :hmm:

However, it does exactly what you're after and it has some cool extra options like "keep existing edges". I think it's a max 6+ plugin, it works for me in max 7 anyway.

Cheers,
Martijn

Edit: Google only returns one url for "edgechex" so I probably downloaded it from this thread (http://67.15.132.2/showthread.php?t=258695) on CGTalk.

Media
09-30-2005, 10:08 AM
Yay! Fantastic plugin!!

M,-

mynewcat
10-03-2005, 07:46 AM
Cheers guy - I'll take a look when I get in. it sounds good though.

Wahooney
10-03-2005, 11:38 AM
There is a chamfer edges plugin that ships with max 7 SDK, but I've never been able to get it working. I'll try again and then, if I get it working, I'll be able in implement requests. :deal:

mynewcat
10-04-2005, 09:13 PM
Works a treat Martijn, thanks.

Slightly flawed, in terms of showing you the selected faces, but still what I was looking for.

Wahooney - I think you should work on that plugin man... frankly they should include it in max properly.

I suggest having a toggle between all edges and selected edges.

CGTalk Moderation
10-04-2005, 09:13 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.