PDA

View Full Version : CG Talk: mel scripting for beginners.. to do or not?

Droolz
09-27-2005, 11:16 AM
Hi,

I've been tentatively looking at learning mel for some time. I've got a lot of experience of using maya and 3d in general, but little knowledge of mel. I've been programming flash for about 6 years, and have a solid understanding of the concepts of programming and their implementation, my maths is allright...Would people recommend the course (here (http://www.cgworkshops.com/courses/000009/))? My main worry is that it will possibly be too basic, just looking for recomendations....

All best,

Jules

twidup
09-28-2005, 06:54 AM
hey Droolz,

what kind of stuff are you wanting covered?

I am still writing up the classes, and am open to ideas from potential students.
The reason its a beginners course, is just for name sake.

The first couple weeks will be the beginners side of things, advancing to handling GUIs and scriptjobs, and ending in doing system interaction scripts, like running some command line based programs from inside maya to manipulate data, storing data outside of maya in custom files, hell, I might even cover writing an AMC/ASF import/exporter in the end as well...and all of this stuff is things you/students will write as well.

But be prepared, like I said the first couple weeks will be beginners type stuff, so it might seem a bit boring to you. But I am going to cover some very production related topics and pitfalls.

-todd

Droolz
09-28-2005, 09:10 AM
Hi Todd,

Thanks for getting back to me - I guess specifically what I'd be looking at is less progamming concept, and more an overview of how to 'slide' into MEL - ie. specific syntax usage [procedures (functions in flash ;)), variablestypes and how they are declared / used, how for / with loops are constructed etc], key mel specific concepts etc.