PDA

View Full Version : What are some of the hardest things to model in your opinion?


twindragon
09-27-2005, 06:51 AM
I figured I would start a thread where people can post what sort of things they have trouble modeling and others can help and give there techniques on how they model them.

I have trouble modeling objects with tiny details all over the place. like lets say you have a tiny hole in the middle of a very smooth surface with not much topology.. would you try to make the tiny hole have quads all around? or would you just have 4 sides and then have five sided polys surounding it.

ok I have an example of what I'm talking about, the image on the left is so clean and simple but if you want to go by the rules and make quads you have to start connecting things to get those quads so you up the poly count. Is this necessary?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v306/Twindragon/topologyexample.jpg

mihkeltt
09-27-2005, 08:01 AM
probably a real existing person - i've tried it and it is NOT easy to get all the details right.

Chris-TC
09-27-2005, 03:16 PM
I find it pretty hard to model details on smooth, curved surfaces.
Your example is pretty good but not very hard considering that the plane is flat.

Make the plane curved, like the outside of a torus, and make your holes square instead of round. It still haven't found a good and easy way to do something like this without losing the surface's smoothness.

mynewcat
10-08-2005, 03:00 AM
I reckon if you're using polys, and you need to add details into a smooth curved surface, at some point you're gonna have too boolean the shape in then have to tidy up the mess (especially if you're a max user!)

Although I have a sweet workflow for doing this using patches and patch deform in max if anyone cares....

These days I find that when I'm looking at something, I usually work out the most difficult bits and work outwards from there.

ThirdEye
10-08-2005, 02:22 PM
Angelina Jolie, many tried, all of them failed.

PS Just to give you an answer about that mesh: ngons in fact don't exist, internally the app subdivides them dynamically, so yes, that subdivision is ok.

Opelfruits
10-08-2005, 03:21 PM
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=270934& (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=270934&highlight=hardest+thing)

CGTalk Moderation
10-08-2005, 03:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.