PDA

View Full Version : VERY c++ beginner

kiko3d
09-25-2005, 12:22 PM
HI, Im trying to compile this very simple program (Hello World) type, in visual studio.net and All I get is this error in the output line:

fatal errorC1010:unexpected end of file while looking for precompiled header directive.

And I guess is that I have my directories wrongly setup, so please help, cause Im very new to visual .net, thanks.

gedim21
09-25-2005, 03:44 PM
As the error says, you have to turn off 'precompiled headers'. To do that right-click on your project in the solution explorer and choose properties.In the new window, go to the C/C++ tab/Precompiled headers and set the first option to 'Not using Precompiled headers'. That should do the trick.

kiko3d
09-25-2005, 07:48 PM
Thanks a lot, besides I think Im gonna be asking a fat lot questions like that one before, so be prepared for silly questions.

kiko3d
09-28-2005, 06:29 AM
Has anyone tried the 3dbuzz vtm, I mean the full bundle, is it worth the money?

ace4016
09-28-2005, 06:50 AM
If you want something that I think is worth more then its cost, may I suggest the "Thinking in C++" book by Bruce Eckel (available at bruceeckel.com). It will bring you from syntax all the way up to OOP templates, from there you can continue to volume 2 of the book or go off and learn on your own. It's free for an e-copy of the book (links are on his site).

kiko3d
09-28-2005, 06:13 PM
Thanks a lot but, could I get it in pdf format?

ace4016
09-28-2005, 09:42 PM
Some places have it in pdf, but not sure where though. A friend gave me my pdf for volume one (had to get the html version of volume two).

cyberluigi2k
09-29-2005, 09:41 AM
You can find both volumes here:

http://www.mindview.net/Books/DownloadSites

kiko3d
10-01-2005, 09:54 AM
Thanks a lot for your attention

kiko3d
10-16-2005, 11:48 PM
Ive managed to get a copy of tninking in c++ in pdf format.