PDA

View Full Version : Real Time Skin Shader - public release.

jistyles
09-22-2005, 06:12 AM
Hi everyone, I'm not a big poster here, but I thought I'd make a post to mention I've released an HLSL skin shader I've been working on recently.

features:
-It's HLSL, so usable in most 3d apps directx viewports
-Translucency/SSS
-Normal map lighting model
-front on and fresnel specular
-attenuation blooming (simulates the effect of harsh translucency blooming)

It has its shortcomings and limitations, I'm an artist not a coder so the code is ugly, and it only supports one light at the moment... however, you can get some damn nice results, so enjoy, and post your results! :D

Here's a quick example of what it's capable of:
Skin shader example 01 (The Squishy) (http://www.jistyles.com/content/resources/hlsl/hlsl-skin_wip03.jpg)

go here (http://www.jistyles.com/main.php?id=doc&page=hlsl)to grab it!

To understand how to apply HLSL shaders, Ben Cloward has an excellent tutorial on the matter in 3DSMax here (http://www.monitorstudios.com/bcloward/tutorials_shaders1.html).

edit:
Here's a quick overview of how to use the shader:

Directions:
In regards to the settings, it defaults to some more stable base numbers and plugs in the blank_ textures provided. It's incredibly flexible for a number of different surface type effects, so don't be too worried about moving too far away from these defaults.