PDA

View Full Version : help with moving in local mode


tom.m
09-21-2005, 04:16 PM
guys,
i'm having some problems moving edges/points in local mode.
for example i want to give depth to this bumper with one move on local Y(like in maya for instance) ..i'm duplicating the edges and moving them but instead of going IN they're going IN and to the LEFT.
http://http://www.notsosimplestudio.com/xsi/bumperHelp.jpghttp://www.notsosimplestudio.com/xsi/bumperHelp.jpg

Can somebody tell me what i'm doing wrong? thanks in advance

SheepFactory
09-21-2005, 10:39 PM
You want to try the scale tool instead. You can easily align where you want to scale from by holding down alt and choosing a temporary pivot. That is the same behaviour you get in maya when you extrude edges\faces.

mattmos
09-21-2005, 10:55 PM
Could try moving in object mode as well, as that relates to the overall object's local pos...

Bucket
09-22-2005, 03:16 AM
Not quite sure of your exact problem. But you might want to try the "Transform components independently in Local mode" Feature located in the transform tool options or just by clicking the transform button on the right side of the screen. Sometimes it works great. Other times you might have to do minor tweaking depending on what you are trying to do.

tom.m
09-22-2005, 01:20 PM
thanks guys. thanks Ali. scaling i think is more of what i was looking for. :) still it acts a little bit different as it scales all the edges towards one point as opposed to moving them parallel to the old ones (if that makes any sense).

thanks for your help again, xsi rocks :thumbsup:

Stoehr
09-25-2005, 11:52 PM
Instead of working onthe edges, try using the polys, Poly. Mesh > Inset Polys

This will preserve the volume, and give a new loop based on the local axis of the points.

CGTalk Moderation
09-25-2005, 11:52 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.