PDA

View Full Version : Correct usage of soft shadows (skylights) with Mental Ray...

IXM
09-20-2005, 01:12 PM
I'm pretty new to Mental Ray, coming from Brazil, and I was wondering how you're supposed to correctly use Skylights so that you get soft shadows and global illumination? In Brazil, you just check off "Skylight" and upgrade the shadow qualities and that's it.

Obviously you create a skylight in your scene, but what settings would you change to get it so that you get the same light you get in Brazil and the same shadows? When I just plop a skylight down in Mental Ray, it's very dim and there's hardly any difference at all in the scene.

gonemad
09-20-2005, 07:37 PM
In mental ray you have to have Final Gather turned on to get any HDRI lighting from the skylight if that's the kind of lighting that you're doing. Other then that I find that the way Mental Ray uses the max skylight dosn't produce the same type of shadows that the skylight in brazil did. To work around this I usually do an ambient occlusion pass for my renders. I find this creates the same effect very well and is pretty easy to set up. However if you don't want to render a seperate pass then it gets a bit more complex to set up.

Best way in my opinion is to do a render with your GI, Final Gather, and what not, then do an ambient occlussion pass, then composite them afterward.

IXM
09-20-2005, 07:49 PM
I was wondering what took so long to post this... It's strange, I swear I've posted on this forum many times in the past, wonder what happened to my post count....

Anyways, the shadows I'm trying to get are the shadows in my logo, www.inuxmedia.com/portfolio/3d_logo.jpg , accurate and soft like real shadows. I have no idea what Ambient Occlusion Pass is either ><. Sorry.

steven xu
09-22-2005, 01:21 AM