PDA

View Full Version : Radiosity: Still Geometry-dependent?

jeremybirn
09-19-2005, 06:33 AM
I posted this on the Lighting & Rendering forum, but wanted to hear definatively about the C4D side of things.

I've been using other GI approaches for a few years, and I haven't seen what's going on with implementations of Radiosity.

Is it still geometry-dependent as it was in Lightscape, where irradiance info was stored in vertices of the geometry, and you got slower but more accurate solutions on surfaces with higher polygon counts? Back in Lightscape, the software even had to adaptively tesselate lower-poly surfaces to add vertices where there was high contrast in the irradiance data - if you use radiosity does that still happen in modern implementations?

I'm only asking about Radiosity, not other GI approaches.

-jeremy

Per-Anders
09-19-2005, 07:16 AM
Cinema only has GI inbuilt I'm afraid (Stochastic brute force, and some form of photon based). It's largely mesh resolution independent (but not mesh detail independent). I've put a post in the Lighting & Rendering forum that should give a clearer explanation.

jeremybirn
09-19-2005, 07:45 AM
Thanks for your continued help! I see many references to "Radiosity" on this forum, and am writing something that needs to be 100% accurate so I wanted to make sure I don't make any over-generalizations about anything that's labelled radiosity in any popular program. If they have taken that word out of C4D's interface then I have nothing to worry about.

-jeremy

Per-Anders
09-19-2005, 07:49 AM
yes, the word has now been removed. The interface now correctly states "Global Illumination" (though i've not checked the manual yet, though I presume it's been corrected there too).

An Erased One
09-19-2005, 10:40 PM