PDA

View Full Version : mel and hell rhyme

gunslingerblack
09-18-2005, 06:47 PM
this is the script i am working on

i have no experience with mel but i am getting a syntax error, does anyone know what the problem is??
using maya 7

if (the_shaker.wander_intensity == 0)

the_shaker.translateX = ( gauss ( ( rand ( 0 , ( the_shaker.shake_intensity * ( the_shaker.shake_xtrans_master * 0.1 ) )))) ) + ( ( ( noise ((time-50) * the_shaker.destabilise_xtrans_scale)) * (the_shaker.destabilise_intensity/2) ) ) + ( rand ( the_shaker.jitter_intensity * ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 ) , ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 )) ) );

else

the_shaker.translateX = ( gauss ( ( rand ( 0 , ( the_shaker.shake_intensity * ( the_shaker.shake_xtrans_master * 0.1 ) )))) ) + ( ( ( noise ((time-50) * the_shaker.destabilise_xtrans_scale)) * (the_shaker.destabilise_intensity/2) ) ) + ( rand ( the_shaker.jitter_intensity * ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 ) , ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 )) ) ) + the_shaker.translateX + (( rand ( - (the_shaker.wander_intensity * (the_shaker.wander_xtrans_master/5)) , (the_shaker.wander_intensity * (the_shaker.wander_xtrans_master/5) ) )))

Segmoria
09-18-2005, 07:21 PM
Well for a start, you cant access the the_shaker attributes in the way you do.
Instead you should use:

if (`getAttr the_shaker.wander_intensity` == 0)
{
setAttr "the_shaker.translateX" ( gauss ( ( rand ( 0 , ( `getAttr the_shaker.shake_intensity` * ( `getAttr the_shaker.shake_xtrans_master` * 0.1 ) )))) ) + ( ( ( noise ((time-50) * `getAttr the_shaker.destabilise_xtrans_scale`)) * (`getAttr the_shaker.destabilise_intensity`/2) ) ) + ( rand ( `getAttr the_shaker.jitter_intensity` * ( `getAttr the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master`/10 ) , ( `getAttr the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master`/10 )) ) );
}

I believe you can figure out the rest.
You might consider breaking that whole thing into smaller groups and store them into seperate float variables, for the sake or easier reading of it!