PDA

View Full Version : foundation 4 under win x64? anyone else having trouble?


KillMe
09-15-2005, 09:48 PM
it runs but only for about 4 mins then becomes unresponsive and starts goggling up an entire processor to do nothing and has to be killed

am currently downloading 4.2 in the hopes that will help

shame keep hearing how cool it is for character aniamtion so i figured i would give it another try since i'm not overly impressed with lightwave in this department - shame to waste it entirely and its been sitting on my shelf unused for sometime now

anyway was wondering if this is a known problem or if i'm jsut unlucky

SheepFactory
09-15-2005, 09:52 PM
What are your system specs?

KillMe
09-15-2005, 10:00 PM
dual opteron 248
2gb ram
geforce 5959 ultra


anything else you want to know?

SheepFactory
09-15-2005, 10:49 PM
I am thinking it might be the gforce drivers.

KillMe
09-16-2005, 12:20 AM
its the 77.77 version drivers i'm running ( for x64 ) ah well guess its not overly important setting up a dual boot in afew days and i guessing it will run fine under xp pro it used to anyway

Atyss
09-16-2005, 02:23 AM
XSI Win32 is not certified on Win64, in case you didn't know. Sorry to not bring helpful insight, but running software on uncertified OSes may lead such problems....



Cheers
Bernard

runejw
09-17-2005, 02:43 PM
It's probably more important that motherboard/chipset drivers as well as video drivers etc are not the best quality yet.


x64 demands 64-bit drivers and all hardware producers seem to be playing "catch-up" at present. It is not for nothing that it's called "The bleeding edge of technology"...


Cheers,
Rune

zukezuko
09-17-2005, 04:44 PM
"The bleeding edge of technology"
i like that :)
Yes thats not a place you want to be,
never buy the latest stuff, let it mature first.

SheepFactory
09-17-2005, 06:30 PM
so is xsi 5 certified on it by any chance since its native 64 bit? I ordered the new comp with win x64 os but if its gonna give me a lot of problems i'd rather get the 32 bit.

white dragon
09-17-2005, 07:20 PM
As Sheep Factory suggested, it could well be the graghics drivers you're using. I only say this as (a) when it comes to 64 stuff, unless there's a C in front of it I don't have a clue, and (b) because I know other people (myself included) on this board had issues running XSI and the 77.77 drivers and rolled back.

Might be worth trying first as it'll only take a second to check out. All best of luck though! :)

Atyss
09-17-2005, 07:48 PM
so is xsi 5 certified on it by any chance since its native 64 bit? I ordered the new comp with win x64 os but if its gonna give me a lot of problems i'd rather get the 32 bit.

No, XSI 5.0 32bit will not be certified for Win64. Hence having a XSI 64bit version.


Cheers
Bernard

SheepFactory
09-17-2005, 07:51 PM
that is what i am talking about. meaning ess\adv. sorry for not being clear.

KillMe
09-17-2005, 08:11 PM
if it is the 77.77 drivers then x64 users have a problem as i pretty sure they are the only 64bit drivers availble =/

anyway 4.2 was just the same

if there is a demo of xsi 5 64bit bit i could give that a try

anyway mildly annoyed about his ( only mildly since as i mentioned i failed to fall in love with xsi for general modeling and animating and this is the first time i tried to use it in 6 months ) but i feel it should run =/, lightwave, modo and all my other apps run perfectly under x64 and they aren't certified for it yet either

CGTalk Moderation
09-17-2005, 08:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.