PDA

View Full Version : Learning About Render Passes

NeptuneImaging
09-13-2005, 03:17 PM
Hey, I just started learning about render passes today (the ONLY thing I haven't really learned in XSI), and I must say it is so much easier than the manual makes it. However, it there a way to have the passes as its own properties? Such as I have the Shadow Passes rendering a shadow image, but when I want to render Highlights, there is still a shadow in the image, and I want to get rid of that with an override. I had to do it long hand, by selecting the highlight pass and turning off shadows....

in fact, do I even have to turn off shadows on anything....?

Thanks a bunch, I will post my learnings :)

jamination
09-13-2005, 04:58 PM
you can turn off the shadows for that pass in the render options under shadows. change regular to none.

NeptuneImaging
09-13-2005, 05:27 PM
Oh, okay, I got that part, but what if I want to just let all of the passes render at once....such as in a film environment....

Oh, and I saw that Strangehold trailer, that was so awesome

Felipe
09-13-2005, 05:49 PM
But you have render options for each pass independently. Open an explorer window and hit "p" for passes. You'll see a render options for each pass. If you want to change some option for all passes you can multi-select all of them and make the changes. Its very straight forward process.

Cheers,

Felipe

NeptuneImaging
09-13-2005, 06:02 PM
Thanks, Felipe :). I think I am going to enjoy doing passes...the only one I have not tried is GI...which seems to take a long time to render and it is very aggravating....

NeptuneImaging
09-13-2005, 09:57 PM
Does anyone have any images of what a GI pass image looks like?

young_927
09-13-2005, 10:31 PM
I have a question regarding with render passes also..
are you able to render more then one passes at once?
like ie.. shadow, diffuse, dirt?