PDA

View Full Version : spine ik set up


harvest
11-07-2002, 07:11 AM
hello everyone i was wondering
if you guys can help me out i have a bit of a problem setting up a a diferent way to set up a spine ik , im currently using the spline ik tool in maya and thats ok and all ,but i was wondering if there is any diferent or better ways to setup a spine :bounce:

-dc-
11-07-2002, 02:58 PM
Hey, if you are using Maya (I assume), then Spline IK is the way to go for a good spine setup. I use an FK spine to control a Spline IK back using clusters parented to control objects which are parented to the FK, if that makes sense. If you are using maya, you can download a rig I have which shows you what I like to do for the spine setup.

http://www.electronicgaming.com/3dArt/skeleton.htm

Is it a highres or lowres setup btw? If it's for realtime, you might just be better off using FK.

Regards,

Joe

harvest
11-08-2002, 08:29 AM
thanks a lot for the responce the rig you did is realy good
well the rig is for a highrez character
hey do you think you can do a diogram on how you do the fk spine setup that would help me a lot:thumbsup:

ragtag
11-12-2002, 03:25 PM
There are a few alternatives and variations. We did a driven key based spine on the Joint Factory (http://www.animagicnet.no/maya/jointfactory/) that still let you move the hips without moving the shoulders (much) and vice versa.

What we want to add in the future is a spline IK spine that can stretch, like the one Jason Schleifer used in AW Rigging DVD. I've built one as a test, and it's nice to work with. If I were to rig a four legged animal now, that's definately the way I would go.

Ragnar

CarlosA
11-19-2002, 03:54 AM
never the less our search for knowledge continiues!!!
hi! hi!:shrug:

jgibz
08-09-2005, 02:54 PM
Hi everyone. I have a similair spine setup to that of -dc-, with the splineIK clusters under my spine and hip controls. from what I've read, (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=57959) this is like Jason Schleifer's spine setup. But I have no idea how Jason setup the spine stretch. I've been trying to figure out how to control the spine joints' stretch by translating the spine and hip controls. Does anyone out there know how to do this without using SDK?

CGTalk Moderation
08-09-2005, 02:54 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.