PDA

View Full Version : Need a great tut for realistic cracks

wiredgear
09-07-2005, 09:15 AM
Well I am a texture artist and I happen to come accross something yet challenging for me. I currently have to create a set of grundgy textures that are wartorned. Full of cracks, holes and alot of dirt. But I for some reason am having trouble creating realitic looking cracks. I've looked for some tuts and they aren't what I really want in reality. Not too indepth about cracks. But I was wondering if some of you guys can give me some tips or direct me to a really good tut.

Here's my attempt. Concrete background done in photoshop, cracks are actually a picture which I threshold. I need to make it seem more realistic. any ideas?:

http://www.transangel.com/files/images/bridgetexture.jpg

I am aware of the cracks looking the same as it is only a test.

Here's the clean version

http://www.transangel.com/files/images/bridgetexture1.jpg

nebezial
09-07-2005, 09:31 AM
try bevelling trick it works usualy

JabzX
09-11-2005, 11:15 PM
I would like to see someone make a tut on realistic cracks. I think observation and imatition are the best tools. If you are near a city, go for a walk with a camera if you have one. The older the city- the more sources's you'll find.
Thats my advice, oh and one thing to remember when looking at your sample-
One of the things that make a crack a crack, and not just a mark is the fact that it breaks into the surface it should be pretty defined that "yes it is borken here" by having the light/shadow say so (the black in the shadow should be thicker).

I think all your sample needs is some correctly looking shadows.

Good luck!

ToddD
09-12-2005, 12:40 AM
I would say make a layer with the material that is under the surface material. Add the layer with the surface mat above the last layer you created. Now you can do some creative eraser tool strokes on the upper layer and apply a very small amount of drop shadow just to give the feeling of depth.