PDA

View Full Version : Attaching instances


Zorro26
09-06-2005, 12:55 PM
Hi
1) I've created a square shape with the line tool.
2) I used Mirror-instance for duplicating this shape and put it
above the original one.
3) I've closed with lines the upper part with the same lower part so now we have
a hollow cube.

Now, the problem i have is attaching all of this into one object and smoothing
all the sides so it would look like a real cube. i've tried to attach the upper and
lower same parts and it can't be done.
Where is the problem ? please help.
Thanks.
(I now there's a cube tool for this to shorten the procedure but i need to know
how to do this in the spline modeling way for something i try to model from a tutorial)

gjpetch
09-07-2005, 01:22 AM
An object can't attach instanced copies of itself, so just hit the "make unique" button first.

CGTalk Moderation
09-07-2005, 01:22 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.