PDA

View Full Version : Spectacular 3D Entry: Chris Pavia

Runefall
09-05-2005, 07:53 PM
Chris Pavia is entered in the "Spectacular Challenge" update: View Challenge Page (http://features.cgsociety.org/challenge/spectacular/view_entries.php?challenger=8053)

Latest Update: Concept Sketch: Initial Concept Sketch
http://features.cgsociety.org/challenge/entries/11/8053/8053_1125982080_medium.jpg (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?p=2607709#post2607709)

Runefall
09-05-2005, 08:09 PM
Hello all, this will be my first Challenge here on CGTalk. I'm primarily a game artist, so I'm looking forward to getting to try some hi res work.
For my piece, I'd like to provoke an emotion of loss or longing. So far I have two ideas:
1. A mother dragon has been killed on a snowy mountaintop protecting her eggs from a group of mercenaries, who'll sell the baby dragon parts for use in potions/magical experiments etc. Her lance skewered body is hunkered over the clutch, the eggs have been shattered and the footprints make it obvious that a group of people made off with the eggs contents. An early hatchling was able to hide before the group arrived, and now tries to awaken its mother.

2. A Frazetta-esque barbarian woman and her dinosaur cohort got into a scrape with some jungle invaders. During thier retreat, the dino gets skewered by spears (or maybe some sci-fi weapon to add a contrast to the primitive scene). So now it lays on the jungle floor dying, as the woman holds it in its last moments of life.

I'd like to know your opinions on which would be a better scene, and fits more with the contest theme (I don't really want to do a realistic scene, as I do enough of that at work. And I want to keep the scope of the piece to 1 or 2 major objects/elements so I don't get in over my head with work, since I have little hi res experience).
I've got a game art contest I need to finish by the 12th, so I'll mainly only be doing concept work for this one until the other is done.