PDA

View Full Version : First Matte Painting

Pixelcritter
09-05-2005, 06:53 AM
Well guys,

I have decided to attempt my very first matte painting.

To start off I just took this really quick (and quite crappy) sketch I did of a landscape on my free time as the basis for the matte painting. I've already been working on it for a few hours so I'll post the steps I've gone through thus far. (Theres 6 I think, too lazy to count that high :P)

F.Y.I. all the images I'm using in the matte painting are all taken by me on the few vacations I've acutally had.

umbrellasky
09-05-2005, 02:56 PM
wow looking good so far, keep it going!

Pixelcritter
09-05-2005, 05:52 PM
added more mountains and tweaked a few things here and there.

Pixelcritter
09-05-2005, 07:24 PM
Another update. Feel free to give some feedback. :)

umbrellasky
09-05-2005, 08:12 PM
I'm no expert on Matte Painting but this is looking fantastic! I don't no what I can crit right now, just keep it going! :)

Pixelcritter
09-06-2005, 12:53 AM
thx enialadam, seems you're the only one who has anything to say. I dunno if that's a good thing or not.

Anyway, here's another update http://www.bzassociates.ca/3nvision/portfolio/cg/step-10.jpg

williamwonka
09-06-2005, 01:06 AM
Fine start. Just keep going. It's hard to "critique" right now because it's still difficult to see the forms of the landscape.

Pixelcritter
09-06-2005, 01:33 AM
So are you saying it's not clear enough?

Pixelcritter
09-06-2005, 02:14 AM
Well the original sketch is entirely covered. Now I'll start tweaking some things and adding more details in places.

Still Looking for some feedback.
http://www.bzassociates.ca/3nvision/portfolio/cg/step-13.jpg

Euphrosyne
09-06-2005, 06:24 AM