PDA

View Full Version : Hot air in shake (particularly jet exhaust)

jaho101
09-01-2005, 05:58 AM
Well, I've taken up my self on a project of making an airplane fly across the sky and manouver. I have the model and some animation ready but, I want to make sure I have all the research done before I embark. Now, I'm quite new to Shake (I have version 4 btw) and would like to know if you pros would have any information.

Right now I'm thinking about making a distortion/blur combination for the exhaust but, if anyone has tips I'm all ears, I know very little. Anyway, here's a piture of the effect I'm looking for: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v323/matt_J/typhoon.jpg

Aneks
09-01-2005, 12:52 PM
done a bunch of these. I usually use a particle system generated in either a 3d app or something like particle illusion. Basically you want to make a quite an erratic particle system with a random lifespan. Then emit these from the rocket cone of the engine on your modell in a seperate pass. A good way to do this is to have two particles one red and one green. Then take this pass and use the particles to drive an iDisplace node and set teh displace x to 'red channel' and the displace 'y' to green channel. I would also use the same particle system to drive a blur as the portion of the image sholuld be blurred too.

I have sometimes used a ranomized filter or noise and a blur when 3d particles weren't available. Either way work well !

check some shot on my reel to see the effect I am talking about. Especially the jet pack and rocket toy shots

www.tahlniran.com (http://www.tahlniran.com)

There is also a tut about this somewhere in the DV garage archives where Aleex Lindsay does this using after effects !

good luck !

Saturn
09-02-2005, 07:32 AM
you an heatwave macro at highend3d.com

jaho101
09-03-2005, 08:35 PM