PDA

View Full Version : Comments Welcome

Miniku
08-31-2005, 11:52 PM
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b370/Miniku/Untitled1.jpg

Hello. This is my first time posting. I have very little formal training and am looking for C&C for this image specifically and my style in general. It is a work in progress, she has no hand or feet and the background isn't fleshed out yet. I'm posting now so I don't lose my nerve later as this forum is full of artists I respect and admire and posting here for such an amateur is a little daunting.

A little background on the image: I used Photoshop and it is the first attempt I've deemed decent at drawing the human figure with no reference. My anatomy still needs work, and the overall composition is off as I have a tendancy to focus on details to the detriment of the overall image.

Any comments or advice anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated. I'm finally in an area where I can take lessons and am looking into doing so as soon as I figure out where I should concentrate.

Thank you for your time and feel free to laugh me off the boards and/or cut me up.

Euphrosyne
09-01-2005, 05:11 AM
I would move the figure over to the right just a little to get her away from the center of the painting. I would shorten the wall she is leaning on just a tiny bit, really not much at all. Make sure you have some interesting details to look at in the distant buildings. Maybe add a few more in the far distance. And make the sky more interesting, a little more contrast and variation in the size of the clouds. The position of her leg looks akward I think the ledge should be wider so her foot can be resting on the ledge. also her body looks flat. She needs more contour. I hope that this helps some. I like the overall setting and the girls face although it is alittle narrow at the cheek and chin area. Keep going it really is a nice start.

Miniku
09-01-2005, 11:27 AM
Thank you, I'll work on what you suggested when I can and post what I have.