PDA

View Full Version : Ui creation help..

thematt
08-31-2005, 10:55 AM
Ok when I say I need help for UI creation I mean that I'm a total newb at it :blush: so please forgive me.
Kinda weird but I've been doing mel for 1 year now or a bit more and never really had to dig the big UI stuff so don't really know where to start.

What i'm trying to do at first is simple enough but I can't seems to find the button..sorry (I've look in the help of course and couldn't find it).

I'd like first to create a simple Ui with two color button that I can query (i need to query the color).
that's seems easy enough but can't find that type of button.

In another UI I have to create I'd need it to updated to a certain degree undestanding that there is a number of characters in a scene and I'l like the UI to updated and list those character with the name and a colorButton next to each one.(to list the character let say that there are all name something like Char:nameOfCharacter).
I'd also like the UI to remember the value of of the color in each case, if i ever have to close and open UI.

Any advise, script I can dig that look like it or other tips are very welcome.

thanks a lot

cheers

edit:
forget first part found it..of course is the colorSliderGrp sorry didn't look because i saw slider and didn't think it was what I was looking for..

neonoodle
08-31-2005, 10:21 PM
What are the colors for? Just for visual display purposes in the UI? do you want to be able to change the colors? Does changing the colors do anything to the characters? I did something similar with the updating character name UI but need more information on what you want with the colors. Do you want the colors to be the same when you reopen the scene another time or just the same while Maya is open?

thematt
09-01-2005, 07:50 AM
Hi thanks for answering,

the color needs to be change in order to change things on the rendering.