PDA

View Full Version : Seams in Nurbs!

Carm3D
11-05-2002, 03:24 AM
Can some Lightwave expert tell me why I am getting seams in the cheek of my chick's face? Thanks!

http://www.carm3d.com/Media/3D_Chick_Face.JPG

Infinity3d4life
11-05-2002, 03:33 AM
you might try spinning some quads to get rid of the seams.. I've had this problem before and that takes care of mine.. I'm no expert, but thats what seems to work for me..Nice model by the way

Brett H.
11-05-2002, 03:36 AM
That's a CHICK???
Wow, serious muscle definition there. :eek:

Please post a wireframe. I might not be of much help, but those here that can be will like to see a wireframe to see if you have problems in the mesh. This only really happens to me if I have n-gons (polys with more than 4 sides) or some 2-siders lying around. If you've used Extender, this might be the problem. Also, when more than 4 polys meet at one point, seams will often occur.

Post that wire and someone will have better info, I'm sure...

Brett

p.s. Nice model, btw, and I wasn't critiquing...But that's one muscular chick...

SplineGod
11-05-2002, 03:40 AM
You might have points that arent welded there. You might have point polys there. You might have internal polys sharing that edge, it could be some opengl artifact....it could be a lot of things that are impossible to troubleshoot without seeing the actual model. :)

yon dabuda
11-05-2002, 03:41 AM
in sub-d mode
press "ctrl+u" (unweld)
press "m" (merge points)

you should be able to see the "trouble polygons" now

delete them and rebuild.

Carm3D
11-05-2002, 04:01 AM
Here's the wireframe!

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll try 'em and let you know

(Ignore the blue arrows.. those are Sasquatch hair stylers)

Carm3D
11-05-2002, 06:38 AM
Hey thanks Yon Dabuda, that did the trick!!

Carm3D
11-05-2002, 09:42 AM
These are my findings about this whole thing...