PDA

View Full Version : Weight Painting vs. UVs


DruG
08-29-2005, 04:09 PM
Hi :)

I`ve just read in maya`s manual that before painting weights I should have UVs cleaned up with no overlaps, if I don`t want my geometry to act funny.

My question is: how does WP work if UVs have influence on it? Does Weights Painting make some kind of "weights texture", like 3d Paint Tool maybe?

Morganism
08-29-2005, 06:35 PM
If you plan on exporting weight maps, then you should have your UV's cleaned up, but it's not required for painting weights. If you plan on setting up UV's at all, it's usually better to do it before weight painting, since it's harder to delete history once weight painting has started.

DruG
08-29-2005, 08:02 PM
"If you plan on exporting weight maps, then you should have your UV's cleaned up, but it's not required for painting weights."

Yeah, but can you tell my what`s the connection? Pure curiosity ;)


"it's harder to delete history once weight painting has started"

There`s Delete Non-Deformer History in Maya 7 which solves that problem, doesn`t it?

Houkah
08-29-2005, 08:09 PM
when you export your weights it exports a grayscale based on your UV's... so a problem would be if you're mirroring your UV's for a person, but painting the weights seperately. When you export and re-import the weights they will be mirrored.

Soulcialism
08-30-2005, 01:21 AM
really though, maya's weight exporting is pretty imprecise because it's done as greyscale rgb values... you're much better off using one of the weight save (i have had good luck with zooWeightSave) tools available from highend3d that actually store the numerical values from the component editor.

to put it simply... most people lay out uv's prior to rigging/weighting because in a team workflow situation it's better practice to have the modelling and uv layout finalized before you bind, because it's a pain in the ass to go backwards after the character is bound.

DruG
08-30-2005, 08:54 AM
Thnx for your replies.

So with that "grayscale map", if I`d like to have some changes in my geometry (like adding edges) and then import weights, it would just take values from the grayscale for new vertices?

If so I guess that with zooWeightSave it wouldn`t be so easy, since after changes in geo the numbers of vertices change. And numerical values are bind to actual verices, right?

I`m just digging ;)

and sorry for my bad english. I hope there won`t be any problems with understanding what I`m saying

CGTalk Moderation
08-30-2005, 08:54 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.