PDA

View Full Version : Modelers mesh axes,Moving bones,Cloth Dresses.etc etc ?


RorrKonn
08-28-2005, 05:56 AM
I'm using 7.5c looking forward to 9 :)

I know RTFM n tutorials to.
I'm reading but some thing I'm just not getting.

in modeler. to make a axes for a mesh in modeler I get a dot n say the dot is the axes right ?
but the camera moves like the axes is 3M in front of the mesh thou.
I just ant getting this ?

in modeler.I rename the mesh surface n I rename the Display / Grouping / Change part name.
but can't find how to rename the mesh it's self so when I send it to layout it has the name I need.

in modeler.if I select 2 points of a bone it rotates from center of the bone.
if I pick one dot it don't rotate.
how do u all rotate bones ?

I haven't gotten to animation yet but was curious about these.

we can animate Sas Lite,right ?
do u half to place all the splines manually in the full version of Sas ?

I know we can animate flat cloth like a flag or curtain with out holes in it.
we can make a cloth dress that has some style to it and has holes in it and animate it,right ?

would messiah be needed for 9 ?

RorrKonn
http://www.atomic-3d.com (http://www.atomic-3d.com)
TS 6, LW 7, C4D 9, zBrush 2.

kevman3d
08-28-2005, 06:41 AM
lol! You're in definite 'RTFM' territory :D but here's just a couple of pointers to help you out...

in modeler. to make a axes for a mesh in modeler I get a dot n say the dot is the axes right ? But the camera moves like the axes is 3M in front of the mesh thou.
I just ant getting this ?

Hmmm, Do you mean that you want to set the meshes 'Pivot' point?
In which case, go to the Details tab and select 'Pivot' then click where you want the pivot to be placed. The other alternative is to simply move the object so that its pivot sits on the 0,0,0 point (middle of all axis)


in modeler.I rename the mesh surface n I rename the Display / Grouping / Change part name.
but can't find how to rename the mesh it's self so when I send it to layout it has the name I need.


Usually it uses the filename - However if you mean how do you name a layer in a model, then open Window > Layer Browser and just double-click on the layer to rename it.


in modeler.if I select 2 points of a bone it rotates from center of the bone.
if I pick one dot it don't rotate.
how do u all rotate bones ?



A couple of pointers here:

Sounds like you're in another mode for where to control the tool from - In this case, the middle of two points would be the 'Selection Center' - At the bottom of the Modeler window, there should be a 'Mode' selection - I always use the mouse position (where I place the cursor).

Note also that you can select Skelegons in modeler in Polygon mode - Selecting one point just selects the point, not the skelegon so rotating a single point won't do nada... ;)

The other questions - Yes, you still have to layout hair guides in Sas full (though the full version of Sas has hair dynamics built in for animation, Saslite you can achieve the same effect if you animate the hair guides in Layout (use bones, dynamics, etc))

And yes, you can create clothing with holes in it for clothFX - Afterall, where would the arms and head come out if there weren't any...

And Messiah for 9? No, I think LW9 will work fine without extra tools like Messiah... lol! :rolleyes:

Cheers!


Kev.

RorrKonn
08-28-2005, 07:09 AM
Thanks for the tips Kevman3D.
The manual get confusing at times n I have a hard time getting how Lightwave works.
I gave up on 7 but 9 sounds good. so I want to give this a try again.

RorrKonn
http://www.atomic-3d.com (http://www.atomic-3d.com)
TS 6, LW 7, C4D 9, zBrush 2.

CGTalk Moderation
08-28-2005, 07:09 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.