PDA

View Full Version : Wheres the fun way to UV map an object?

Tactical Trance
08-28-2005, 02:00 AM
when i do uvs in lightwave i usually morph it all out by hand until my entire model is on a flat plane or use the nifty box technique. I used the seam tool in blender which i thought was amazing to skin a bomber i made. Is there any plug-in to cut the model up like the seam tool in blender so it automatically falls flat the way you want it? whats the best way you guys do it in lightwave because im sick of morphing crap.

heres example im talking about if u dont know what i mean by seam tool. i think it owns...

yes im a newb who is hyper :D

JDoliner
08-28-2005, 03:41 AM
this might not be what you want as it is not within lightwave. Wings3d a free porgram that never ceases to amaze me has a built in automatic UV system that is really excellant, this is the most inuative way to UV map that i've ever used and it's free

stompbox
08-28-2005, 09:45 AM
JDoliner that sounds interesting mate, can you talk a bit more about it? Does it have an "autopelt/relax uv" type function? I can rip UV maps like the best of them, it's the distortion that kills me - trying to smooth it out to minimise the stretching.

Carm3D
08-28-2005, 10:37 AM
How about this one (http://www.polygonal-design.fr/e_unfold/index.php)?

Mike RB
08-28-2005, 02:17 PM
Wow, the most basic version of unfold3D is $160.00USD, the high end one is $1225.00USD. I didn't realize this pelting stuff cost so much. Well, I guess its worth it, it probably pays for itself after a few projects....

Mike

BazC
08-28-2005, 03:06 PM
Wow, the most basic version of unfold3D is $160.00USD, the high end one is $1225.00USD. I didn't realize this pelting stuff cost so much. Well, I guess its worth it, it probably pays for itself after a few projects....

Mike