PDA

View Full Version : How much C before C++?

anibal187
08-27-2005, 07:18 PM
Hi, I'm studying C. My question is: How much should I know of this language before moving to C++ (my "real" goal). Which concepts should I use, pointers? arrays?...
I always find that C helps to better understand C++. I'm just not sure when is the right time to move.
Thanks for your help.

mummey
08-27-2005, 07:21 PM
No reason to wait anymore. Just to go C++.

Stevemeister
08-27-2005, 08:42 PM
Learn C quite thouroughly I say. The Win32 API is C-based, LightWave's and many other graphics SDKs are C-based as well. When you need C, it'll be there for you. So at least cover the things in C that C++ and the STL makes obsolete (like the string and memory functions and stuff).

anibal187
08-29-2005, 12:23 AM
Thanks for the replies guys. IŽm going to mix both. IŽll learn some more C, then start reading about C++, and when I notice something I should know from C, IŽll review these concepts. :scream:.

Niklas Collin
08-29-2005, 08:15 AM
I agree that go on to C++. No need to study C if you're ultimately going to use C++ anyway. And IMHO you'll just learn bad habits with C when you move on to C++. For example, no reason to use printf when you have cout and so on. You'll do yourself a big favour if you'll get object orientated programming into your workflow as soon as possible. It makes a HUGE difference when your programs go beyond 3-4k lines.

stew
08-31-2005, 08:15 AM
And IMHO you'll just learn bad habits with C when you move on to C++.
I second that. If you want to do C++, don't bother to learn C. Otherwise your coding style will be spoiled with lots of C habits that are not wise to use in C++. The difference between C and C++ is not just about using class instead of struct as some people seem to think but also about different ways of casting, not using malloc(), using STL strings instead of strcpy, etc.

anibal187
09-02-2005, 11:05 PM