PDA

View Full Version : how do pros do textures - next gen games

Rockviech
08-23-2005, 09:55 PM
Hi guys

im totally new to 3d stuff, texturing and all that stuff
so im asking myself how do artists do the textures for the next gen games?
photo textures or drawing ?

http://playstation3.gaming-universe.de/screengalerie/20.jpg

when i look at this or at games like ut2007 or gears of war i cant belive it how to do textures that look that awsome

are this really textures or shaders?

it would be great if someone can show me such texture maps or tell me something about it

Keiyentai
08-24-2005, 02:19 AM
There Hi-Res textures placed on Normal Mapped chars. The base chars for UT2007/Gears of War is between 7000-13,000 polys with normal maps as high as 4million polys. So the level of detail is just insane. Have you seen the E3 reel for the Unreal III engine? It explains some of the detail of the normal mapped chars. THe dragon they show is amazing. Hope this helps.

ArchangelTalon
08-24-2005, 03:19 AM
The picture you've linked there, the Killzone 2 one, is pre-rendered, not in-game ;)

As far as I know, the textures are, while not neccecarily harder, somewhat different to create, as you don't have as much baked-in lighting due to it all being done real-time. Therefore it's just flat colour with all the other various shaders (normal, spec, gloss, parallax, etc... I think UE3 even has a cheap SSS shader) to bring it to life. So while the individual components are less complex, there's more of them and you have to be aware of what each will do to the final product.

But that's only as far as I know, I've not dabbled in it myself yet, just been having a look around things :)

Augh
08-24-2005, 04:01 AM
Daaaamn. What game is that/is that gonna be? The pointing dude is just awesome :love:Seems to be a near standard bob type chara too o_O Jeez.