PDA

View Full Version : RealFlow section ?

paulselhi
08-23-2005, 07:24 PM
As RF is gaining in popularity..probably due to the freebie !! I wondered why a RF sub forum has not been set up yet

I know NL have a forum ( very stagnant) then again so do most app houses but we stiil have forums for the likes of Maya, LW etc

Is RF just too rssource hungrey and slow to be of any interest except for those with farms of crays ? ( ohh do crays still exsist !!)

DuttyFoot
08-23-2005, 08:40 PM
it would be cool,if they had a realflow section on here. i am using the evaluation version and its great.

paulselhi
08-23-2005, 08:47 PM
I am whiling away a few years trying to settle a fluid of 70000 particles. I am no programmer but i am sure that it would not be too difficlut to let the fluid settlle to say the shape of a bowl then have some way of detecting the position of the particles and then autommatically adjust their positions to give a uniform distribution.. i would have thought a few mins/secs to do

I mean if the program could read in the basic shape of the fluid whilst it is in a bowl, then work out the positions of all the particles that are in contact with the bowl it should be fairly straight forward to calculate the needed positions of all the intervening particles to give it a totally uniform, no sploshing configuration

DuttyFoot
08-23-2005, 09:44 PM
i ordered the digital tutors realflow dvd and one of the tuts they go over pouring fluids in a cup. you can check out the dvd on digital-tutors.com
i hope it will have what you are looking for. also did you check out to see if any tutorials on nextlimits site help with what you are trying to achieve. also you can check out some of the videos on there gallery section.

if you dont mind me asking whats a cray

paulselhi
08-24-2005, 12:31 AM
i bought the DT vids..very good as an intoduction.but that is all a basic introduction. though the water drop tutorial is very good

a cray is (was) a supercomputer

sadghost