PDA

View Full Version : 3d newbie definitions questions

exovoid
08-22-2005, 08:25 AM
I'm just getting into 3d now, and I keep seeing terms I don't understand, please direct me towards another thread if there is one, I couldn't find it...
The words I'm after definitions/descriptions for are
polygon modelling
Sub-d
NURBS
UV Mapping
and one which i cant remember the term for... rigging a model?

Thanks, sorry if this is just another n00b

AA_Tyrael
08-22-2005, 10:41 AM
www.google.com is ur friend :hmm:

exovoid
08-22-2005, 10:45 AM
actually no, it's not, if you've heard of a thing called websense you'll know the hell it causes while trying to do anything constructive on the net, I'm unable to use google from where I am, admin has decided it's a threatening resource... don't ask me why.

rybeck
08-22-2005, 01:51 PM
exovoid,

These are raw definitions of terms you were asking, and these are from Maya Help (which is available from S/W)...
One thing I have in my mind is that you need to get a reference or two (probably one of "introduction of Maya...") to read about the material... I am afraid of the question you asked is too general to get appropriate answers...
You can also try PLE version of S/W that available from Alias website...

Good luck...

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Polygon

A polygon is an n-sided shape, defined by its corners (vertices) and the straight lines between them (edges). When you model with polygons you usually use triangles or quadrilaterals ("quads"), although Maya supports polygons with more sides. An individual polygon is often called a face, and is thought of as the filled area defined by its vertices and edges.

Subdivision surface
Modeling with subdivision surfaces is an easy way to create intricate objects such as human hands. It combines the best features of NURBS and polygonal modeling.